In Uncategorized by SFLI


The worlds greatest clubs will compete in the Intercontinental Futsal Cup in Erechim, Brazil with the hope of being crowned 2015 Intercontinental Futsal Cup Champions

Press Release courtesy of / Atlantic Erechim / CBFS

An official event on Friday, July 3rd announced the participants of the 2015 World Futsal Club Championship better known as the 2015 Intercontinental Futsal Cup.

Atlantico Erechim, the 2014 Libertadores Futsal Cup Champions, are the organizing club; President of CER Atlantic, Julio Brondani stated that this is a unique event and the most prestigious title a futsal club may seek. This is a unique event that will commemorate the 100th year of Atlantico Erechim’s club existence.

Futsal director Cladir Dariva made the official presentation for the competition, which will begin on 31 August; on July 11th the official match schedule and groups were announced in an official draw. Tickets sales for this year’s event will be released August 6th. Dariva, also recalled the efforts made on behalf of Atlantico Erechim in preparation for the competitions lauch, “We planned the possibility of one day living this moment. We worked hard to reach the achievements we have made on the court and again more recently in search of enabling this global event to take place at our club,” he added.

The Competition

Sharing the court during the 2015 Intercontinental Futsal Cup will be the 2014 UEFA Futsal Cup Champions and current Intercontinental Champions, Kairat Almaty Futsal Club from Kazakhstan, Futsal Club Toronto representing Canada, representing the Persian Gulf, Al Dhafra from the United Arab Emirates, representing Africa is Egyptian team Misr Lelmakkasa and host Atlantico Erechim, champion of the 2014 Copa Libertadores Futsal Cup.

The games will take place between August 31 and September 5, with the first phase taking place between the 31st and the 4th, the Finals and third place competition will be stages on the 5th of September.

In the first phase, all clubs play each other and the two top teams will make the final.

Brazilian History

Brazil has been selected as the host country for the 2015 Intercontinental Futsal Cup for the fourth time, it is a competition that is played yearly and is organized by FIFA.

Brazil and Spain have both lifted the Intercontinental Futsal Cup in six occasions followed by Russia and Kazakhstan; by teams like, Carlos Barbosa (Brazil), Inter Movistar, Caja Segovia (Spain), MFK Dinamo Moskva (Russia) and AFC Kairat (Kazakhstan).